Kicked Up Tabbouleh

April 8, 2010 § 16 Comments

Aaannnd we’re back! Tonight when we got home I wanted something quick, yet delicious. I’d never made tabbouleh before, but after a little googling, I found a simple recipe I couldn’t wait to try. The parsley and mint add such bold, refreshing flavor to this version of the Mediterranean favorite. I used the tabbouleh as a base for my meal and gave it bulk by adding roasted chickpeas and crumbled feta cheese. The chickpeas, when roasted at a very high heat with a little olive oil, salt, and pepper become deliciously crispy with a soft, pasty center. And the feta…well…you know how creamy and tangy that is. The pronounced flavors blended so well. Daniel agreed that it was unbelievably delectable, a perfect springtime supper!

I’m off to start a new book I bought, “Blink,” by one of my favorite authors, Malcolm Gladwell. The book has to do with subconscious thinking and the power of thought. The back of the book states, ” Drawing on cutting edge neuroscience and psychology to reveal that the difference between good decision making and bad has less to do with how much information we process than with our ability to focus on a few, particular details. Gladwell shows how we all can become better decision makers- in our homes, in our offices, and in everyday life.” I have read Malcolm Gladwell’s other books and have loved them. His nonfiction writing is clear and precise, and his topics are always incredibly interesting. His most recent book, “What the Dog Saw,” was wonderful.

Has anyone read “Blink?” What are you reading right now?

Tabbouleh (recipe courtesy Gourmet Magazine)

  • 1/2 cup fine bulgur
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 cup boiling-hot water
  • 2 cups finely chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley (from 3 bunches)
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped fresh mint
  • 2 medium tomatoes, cut into 1/4-inch pieces
  • 1/2 seedless cucumber*, peeled, cored, and cut into 1/4-inch pieces
  • 3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper

Stir together bulgur and 1 tablespoon oil in a heatproof bowl.

Pour boiling water over, then cover bowl tightly with plastic wrap and let stand 15 minutes. Drain in a sieve, pressing on bulgur to remove any excess liquid.

Finely chop the parsley

Chop the tomato and squeeze with your hands to remove excess liquid and seeds.

Mix all ingredients, including the additional two tablespoons of olive oil.

And if you’re interested in adding roasted chickpeas, here is the simple procedure: Preheat the oven to 400°. Spread the chickpeas onto a baking sheet coated with nonstick cooking spray. Sprinkle the chickpeas with salt and pepper, and an additional spritz of nonstick cooking spray. Bake for 15 minutes, or until they are golden brown and have a crispy exterior.

Toss the warmed chickpeas with the tabbouleh and add crumbled feta cheese. Serve!

Tagged: , , ,

§ 16 Responses to Kicked Up Tabbouleh

  • For some reason I am not a fan of parsley, I don’t know why but there is something about the taste that I don’t like :( When I make Tabbouleh I substitute the parsley for cilantro, haha taking out one of the main ingredients!

    I haven’t read Blink, but right now I am reading the Alchemist a book my dad got me and it is really good!

  • I have never read “Blink,” but the name does ring a bell to me. Perhaps I’ve heard about it somewhere…? Either way, it sounds like a really interesting book. I tend to FAIL when it comes to making decisions :/ It’s not that I make the wrong decisions, it’s just that I let the decision-making process rule my life and usually stress me out.

    Your tabbouleh looks gorge! So many great colors going on. It also looks like a great refreshing dish for the Spring/Summer months!

  • The tabbouleh looks so good. I love mint in my foods. When I was growing it on my balcony last summer I’d tear it up and put in my salads. So good!

  • YUM!!! I have never had roasted chickpeas before but they sound amazing!!!! I will have to give that a try!

  • luvtoeat says:

    Hmmm…I’ve never heard of tabbouleh before cause I’m not very familiar with Mediterranian dishes but I love all those colours in your dish. Makes the dish look so beautiful and mouthwatering. That’s the great thing about food blogging, you learn something new everyday. Thanks for the awesome step by step.

  • Erica says:

    Glad you guys made it home safely. I recently made something like this and was immediately in love!! Greek food is so tasty and they have the best vegetarian options. I’m not really a reader…. The last thing I read was the twilight series!

  • Oh I love tabbouleh! Never tried making it myself before though.

    I’m about to start reading “Three Cups of Tea” for my book club…it looks like a great book!

  • I love tabbouleh and make it all the time in the summer when the tomatoes are perfect. This year, I will have to find a sub for the bulgur since I can’t have gluten but I can’t wait. Love it. Especially with hummus on top!

  • Kelly says:

    The last book I read was Lauren Conrad’s second one. Should I be embarrassed to admit that?

  • Tabbouleh always reminds me of outdoor family parties in the summer- it’s my mom’s specialty!!

    I’m currently reading Dangerous Liasons in French. I don’t do much reading for pleasure during the school year!!

  • I actually read part of one of his books and still have it from when I borrowed it from my aunt. I should finish it now that I’m thinking about it…

  • thehealthyjunky says:

    I love tabbouleh, but have never made it myself. Did you find it time consuming?

  • i own blink but i haven’t read it yet, i really want to! i guess i’ll read it this summer when i have more time for non-school reading. mm i love tabbouleh! so good. and your bowl is awesome too

  • Krista says:

    Great recipe! Mint makes any dish and I agree that roasting chickpeas takes them to a whole new level.

    I’ve seen “What the Dog Saw” and have thought it sounds interesting to say the least. Right now I’m reading The Lovely Bones…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Kicked Up Tabbouleh at Can You Stay for Dinner?.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,573 other followers

