French Toast Sticks

March 3, 2010 § 17 Comments

Welcome to Burger King, may I take your order?

Let’s pause and pay respect to Burger King’s greatest creation: The French Toast Stick. I don’t know about you, but those things are the best form of nostalgia for me. Thinking about my childhood, I vividly remember the excitement of getting to BK before 10am for a little box of fried dough. And a side of crispy crowns. And a small carton of Tropicana orange juice (that damn straw…)….And maybe a box of Cini Minis, but that’s it! This special breakfast became more rare the older I got. In college, you’re not getting anywhere before 10am. If class started at noon, the day started at 11:45.
Then after college, I was out of the habit of eating fast food. I think 21 years of it may have been my limit. So you see, it’s been a while since I’ve had my beloved French Toast Sticks. This morning I decided to address this problem and create a version with a few nutrients. I’ve got to say, BK better watch out. I may even slap a carport on the side of my house as a make-shift drive thru. A crispy, cinnamony exterior with a fluffy, eggy center, each one dipped in warm maple syrup… these little french toasties were absolutely delicious. And so much fun to eat with my hands.
Does anyone else love French Toast Sticks? What’s your favorite fast food breakfast?

I cut two thick slices from a rustic whole grain loaf of bread. I then cut those slices into chunky stick shapes.

I dipped the sticks into a shallow bowl containing a beaten egg with 1/4 cup milk, cinnamon, and a 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract.

Then I cooked the sticks in a greased pan over medium heat for about 3-4 minutes per side.

Dust with powdered sugar and serve with maple syrup for your dipping pleasure!

On another note, I decided to jump on the bandwagon and create a way to Ask Me Anything! Since my blog is still an infant, I think this would be a great way for me to really introduce myself. Click here to ask away!

It’s raining here, which means that I’m going to the gym instead of playing outside. I should just put on my galoshes and get puddle jumping, but I think the treadmill might be a more respectable form of exercise. Have a wonderful morning everyone!

Tagged: ,

§ 17 Responses to French Toast Sticks

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading French Toast Sticks at Can You Stay for Dinner?.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,573 other followers

