Chicken with Mustard Mascarpone Marsala Sauce

February 10, 2010 § 3 Comments

This Saturday I am hosting a dinner party. In honor of Valentine’s Day, I’m inviting some of the people I love. I had a really tough time deciding what to serve. On the one hand, I want something simple so that I have less of a chance to screw it up, but on the other, I want to impress my guests with my culinary expertise. I also know that a one-pot dish is easier to manage and keep warm than creating a meal with many sides that cook separately. So I’m going with a recipe that is tried and true. The only part I’m unsure of is whether to cut the peanut butter and fluff sandwiches into triangles or quarters for daintier presentation. No, but I must admit that my favorite meal, and I’m not kidding this time, is peanut butter and fluff. Specifically, Smucker’s Natural creamy peanut butter and the thickest layer of fluff you’ve ever seen (or wanted to see). For Christmas two years ago, one of the gifts I received from my boyfriend was a box filled with 8 tubs of Marshmallow Fluff. The more telling part of the story is that the economy-sized fluff supply was gone by mid February.

What was the point of this post? Oh yeah, dinner party. So I’m going to serve “Chicken with Mustard Mascarpone Marsala Sauce,” from the great Giada De Laurentiis of the Food Network.  I’ve made it once before for my family and I remember everyone raving about how much they loved it, so tonight I thought I’d try it again as a practice run for Saturday. It was absolutely delicious. Fairly simple yet with such rich and complex flavor. I hope you’ll try it.

Below I’ve listed the appropriate  ingredient amounts when making the recipe to serve two people (as I did tonight). The nutrition facts represent one of the two servings  that my pared down version makes. Other than cutting it down, I followed the recipe exactly. I chose to serve the chicken over angel hair pasta, but feel free to use whatever you like best.

Chicken with Mustard Mascarpone Marsala Sauce

(recipe by Giada De Laurentiis, Food Network )

(makes two servings)

  • 6 oz chicken breast
  • ½ TBSP olive oil
  • ½ TBSP butter
  • ¼ cup chopped onion
  • ½ cup sliced cremini mushrooms
  • 2 tsp minced garlic
  • ¼ cup Marsala wine
  • 3 TBSP mascarpone cheese
  • 2 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 2 tsp minced parsley

Sprinkle the chicken with salt and pepper. Heat the oil in a heavy large skillet over high heat. Add the chicken and cook just until brown, about 4 minutes per side. Transfer the chicken to a plate and cool slightly.

While the chicken cools, melt 2 tablespoons of butter to the same skillet over medium-high heat, then add the onion and saute until tender, about 2 minutes. Add the mushrooms and garlic and saute until the mushrooms are tender and the juices evaporate, about 12 minutes.

Add the wine and simmer until it is reduced by half, about 4 minutes.

Stir in the mascarpone and mustard. Cut the chicken breasts slices. Return the chicken and any juices that have pooled on the plate to the skillet. Simmer over medium-low heat until the chicken is cooked through and the sauce thickens slightly, about 2 minutes. Stir in the chopped parsley. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Nutrition info per serving (not including pasta):

Cal: 265, Fat: 16.4g, Sodium: 85.6mg, Prot: 22g, Carb: 2.5g

 

Now I just have to decide on dessert.

§ 3 Responses to Chicken with Mustard Mascarpone Marsala Sauce

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Chicken with Mustard Mascarpone Marsala Sauce at Can You Stay for Dinner?.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,573 other followers

